Bon Iver share recordings of ‘Beth/Rest’ and ‘Babys’ from their 2011 AIR Studios session

Bon Iver have shared live versions of ‘Beth/Rest’ and ‘Babys’, pulled from a fan-revered session they performed London’s AIR Studios-owned Lyndhurst Hall.

  • READ MORE: 10 videos that show what a breathtaking live act Bon Iver are

The session in question took place in 2011, the same year they minted their semi-eponymous sophomore album ‘Bon Iver, Bon Iver’. It saw the band perform three songs from that record – ‘Beth/Rest’, ‘Hinnom, TX’ and ‘Wash.’ – as well as ‘Babys’ from their 2009 EP ‘Blood Bank’, and a cover of the Bonnie Raitt song ‘I Can’ Make You Love Me’.


Making the recording stand out is its stripped-back nature, as frontman Justin Vernon and drummer Sean Carey recorded the five-song set entirely analogue, with only vocals and piano.

As such, the tracks wield a much rawer and more reflective atmosphere; ‘Beth/Rest’ is the most heavily affected, with the version on ‘Bon Iver, Bon Iver’ driven by warbly, neon-tinted synths and vocal effects.

Have a listen to the AIR recordings of ‘Beth/Rest’ and ‘Babys’ below:

The full AIR Studios session was initially released in February 2012, however the forthcoming tenth-anniversary edition of ‘Bon Iver, Bon Iver’ – due out January 14 via Jagjaguwar – makes the individual tracks available to stream for the first time.

The reissue will also be pressed on CD and vinyl, sporting a blind embossed, white-on-white version of the original cover art (with a white record to match).

A personal essay written by Phoebe Bridgers will be included with all formats, the singer-songwriter opening up about how the record – which she described as “massive, sprawling [and] unbelievably complex” – impacted her life.

Bon Iver have performed one show thus far in 2021, headlining August’s Water Is Life festival in Minnesota to protest the Enbridge Line 3 pipeline. The band played an eight-track set heavy on cuts from their 2016 album ‘22, A Million’.

The band released their most recent album, ‘i, i’, in August of 2019, following it up in 2020 with the singles ‘PDLIF’ and ‘AUATC’ (featuring Bruce Springsteen and Jenny Lewis).


You May Like

Join the Discussion

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.